Connect With Us on Social Media

The RRCA is the oldest and largest organization in the US dedicated to distance running.

Join RRCA Today

With over 2,400 member clubs and events representing over 250,000 running club members, why run with anyone else? Join the RRCA today!

Donate to the RRCA

We are a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization. Your financial contribution supports our programs. Give today!

Sign Up For Email Updates

Keep Pace with the RRCA. Sign up now for monthly email updates about the RRCA. Don’t worry we will not sell or give away your email address.

Milwaukee Lakefront Marathon Needs Your Help

Milwaukee, WI - 2010 marks the 30th Anniversary Milwaukee Lakefront Marathon, the 2010 RRCA National Marathon Championship event. Back in 1981 marathoning was a very different sport made up of mostly men and mostly fast men. However, even in 1981 Milwaukee provided an opportunity for both elite and citizen marathoners to test themselves and to meet their marathon goals. Over the years the race has been honored to see several of their elites achieve Olympic Marathon Trials qualifying times and to see many of their runners (sometimes as many as 22%) achieve a Boston Marathon qualifying time. The race has also welcomed 5+ hour runners since the very beginning.

To mark the 30th anniversary, the Milwaukee Lakefront Marathon is trying to locate ALL of their former winners. Progress with the efforts is being made, but the event organizers need your help. Do any of you know these runners, are you one of these runners?

1981   Steve Benson 2:18:09
1983 Fred Torneden 2:14:43
1984 Jesse Garcia 2:23:42
1988 Mark Horwitz 2:27:23
1989 Dan Martin 2:27:43
1994   Mitchell Craib 2:25:27

1981 Mary Bange 2:55:31
1982   Sue Moen 2:54:29
1983 Nancy Mieszczak 2:39:15
1984 Betty Nelson 2:51:57
1985   Audrey O’Brien 2:56:02
1988 Sandy Lovejoy 3:02:55
2004 Aaron Clark 2:58:30

If you know or are one of these runners, please e-mail .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) contact information as we have a special opportunity for all past Milwaukee Lakefront Marathon winners.

News Archive

Official RRCA Sponsors

  • All Sponsors