Connect With Us on Social Media

The RRCA is the oldest and largest organization in the US dedicated to distance running.

Join RRCA Today

With over 2,400 member clubs and events representing over 250,000 running club members, why run with anyone else? Join the RRCA today!

Donate to the RRCA

We are a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization. Your financial contribution supports our programs. Give today!

Sign Up For Email Updates

Keep Pace with the RRCA. Sign up now for monthly email updates about the RRCA. Don’t worry we will not sell or give away your email address.

Deadline Extended - Nominate Deserving Individuals for the RRCA National Running Awards

Since 1971, the RRCA has been honoring dedicated individuals for their service to the running community through the RRCA Hall of Fame and the National Running Awards. Detailed information about the award categories along with selection criteria and the online nomination form can be found at To nominate a deserving individual simply follow the instructions on the online nomination form, print a copy for your records, and click the submit button. Email or mail newsletter copies as instructed in the online form.  The RRCA will provide a $400 travel stipend and one complementary ticket for each award winner to the 2014 RRCA National Running Awards Banquet that will be held in Spokane, Washington on May 3, 2014.

The nomination deadline is 5:00 PM Eastern on January 15, 2014.  The period of performance for the individual being nominated is January 1, 2013 through December 31, 2013 for all awards except the Hall of Fame and Browning Ross awards which are lifetime achievement awards.  All nominations are forwarded to the appropriate selection panels tasked with selecting the final award recipients.  Individuals interested in serving on one of the award selection panels should email Andy Smith at

Nomination & Selection Process

To nominate a deserving individual for an award, review the Award Categories and Selection Criteria Information on our website.  Then complete the online nomination form during the nomination period. Award winners are chosen by a volunteer selection panel from the nominations submitted for each award category. The RRCA awards selection panels are a great opportunity to get involved with the organization at the National level. For more information about serving on a selection panel email .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address).

RRCA National Running Award Categories

RRCA DISTANCE RUNNING HALL OF FAME: Inducts individuals that have dedicated themselves to the sport of distance running.

BROWNING ROSS SPIRIT OF THE RRCA: Honors a club member who is an unsung hero and champions the RRCA at the local and/or national level.

OUTSTANDING CLUB PRESIDENT OF THE YEAR IN HONOR OF SCOTT HAMILTON: Honors an outstanding RRCA club president for the year.

ROAD RUNNERS OF THE YEAR AWARD: Honors top male and female open, masters U.S. runners with outstanding records of distance racing performance during the year.  Honors one outstanding Physically Challenged Athlete of the Year (male or female).


  1. Outstanding Club Newsletter of the Year honors two club newsletters that demonstrate a variety of content, good presentation, informative and creative, and inclusive of the RRCA logo. One award will be given for a print newsletter and is open to any size club.
  2. Outstanding Club Writer of the Year award honors a top club writer that is an unpaid running journalist.
  3. Club/Event E-Newsletter of the Year recognizes the use of technology when communicating with members. It is open to any size club or event. The e-newsletter can be emailed to members or clearly posted on a website and should be in PDF, HTML, or another similar format. The e-newsletter should look like a newsletter and not simply be a page on a club website or a text email.
  4. Journalistic Excellence honors a professional writer who has made a notable contribution to the literature of distance running.

OUTSTANDING VOLUNTEER OF THE YEAR IN HONOR OF ROD STEELE: Honors an outstanding volunteer (excluding the president) of a local club or event.

OUTSTANDING STATE REPRESENTATIVE OF THE YEAR IN HONOR OF AL BECKEN: Honors the outstanding service of an RRCA State Representative.

OUTSTANDING YOUTH PROGRAM DIRECTOR OF THE YEAR IN HONOR OF KURT STEINER:  Honors a club member who is dedicated to promoting children’s running and/or coordinating an outstanding children’s running program.

OUTSTANDING BEGINNING RUNNING PROGRAM OF THE YEAR: Honors beginning running programs hosted by nonprofit clubs that engage new or returning runners to the sport, regardless of their gender.

RRCA ROAD RACE OF THE YEAR: Honors a nonprofit organized race that is safe, well-organized, promotes grassroots running by being locally owned, and promotes the mission of the RRCA.

OUTSTANDING WEBSITE AWARD: Honors a club with an outstanding website design and content. One website will be chosen from the nominations.

Nominate a deserving individual today!

Learn about all of the RRCA National Award Winners.


News Archive

Official RRCA Sponsors

  • All Sponsors