Connect With Us on Social Media

The RRCA is the oldest and largest organization in the US dedicated to distance running.

Join RRCA Today

With over 2,400 member clubs and events representing over 250,000 running club members, why run with anyone else? Join the RRCA today!

Donate to the RRCA

We are a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization. Your financial contribution supports our programs. Give today!

Sign Up For Email Updates

Keep Pace with the RRCA. Sign up now for monthly email updates about the RRCA. Don’t worry we will not sell or give away your email address.

RRCA Extends Deadline for National Running Awards Nominations

The RRCA has extended the deadline for the National Running Awards nominations.  Due to the fact that we launched the new website near the original deadline for the awards nominations, we determined that an extension would allow members adequate time to submit nominations.  Detailed information about the award categories along with selection criteria and the new online nomination form can be found at  To nominate a deserving individual simply follow the instructions on the online nomination form, print a copy for your records, and click the submit button. Email or mail newsletter copies as instructed in the online form.

The RRCA will provide a $400 travel stipend and one complementary ticket for each award winner to the 2010 RRCA Annual Banquet and National Running Awards Ceremony that will be held in Lakeland, FL on April 24, 2010.  Additional banquet tickets are available for purchase for accompanying family members. 

The extended nomination deadline is 5:00 PM Eastern on January 31, 2010.  The period of performance for the individual being nominated is January 1, 2009 through December 31, 2009 for all awards except the Hall of Fame and Browning Ross awards, which are lifetime achievement awards.  All nominations will be forwarded to the appropriate selection panels tasked with selecting the final award recipients.  Individuals interested in serving on one of the award selection panels should contact Eve Mills at

RRCA DISTANCE RUNNING HALL OF FAME:  Inducts individuals that have dedicated themselves to the sport of distance running.

BROWNING ROSS SPIRIT OF THE RRCA: Honors a club member who is an unsung hero and champions the RRCA tirelessly and enthusiastically at the local and/or national level.


ROAD RUNNER OF THE YEAR AWARD: Honors a male and female open and masters US runner with an outstanding record of distance racing performance during the year.

RRCA JERRY LITTLE EXCELLENCE IN JOURNALISM:  1. Club Newsletter Award honors two club newsletters that demonstrate a variety of content, good presentation, informative and creative, and inclusive of the RRCA logo. One award will be given to clubs with 499 or fewer members, and one award will be given for clubs with 500 or more members.  2. Club Writer Award honors a top club writer that is an unpaid running journalist. 3. Club/Event E-Newsletter recognizes the use of technology when communicating with members. It is open to any size club or event. The e-newsletter can be emailed to members or clearly posted on a website and should be in PDF, HTML, or another format such as Constant Contact e-newsletter. The e-newsletter should look like a newsletter and not simply be a page on a club website or a text email. 4.  Journalistic Excellence honors a professional writer who has made a notable contribution to the literature of distance running for the year.

ROD STEELE OUTSTANDING VOLUNTEER AWARD: Honors an outstanding volunteer (excluding the president) of a local club or event.

OUTSTANDING RRCA STATE REPRESENTATIVE: Honors the outstanding and superior service of an RRCA State Representative.

RRCA KURT STEINER OUTSTANDING YOUTH PROGRAM DIRECTOR AWARD:  Honors a local club member who is dedicated to either promoting children’s running and/or coordinating an outstanding children’s running program.

RRCA OUTSTANDING BEGINNING RUNNING PROGRAM AWARD: Honors beginning running programs hosted by RRCA clubs that engage new or returning runners to the sport, regardless of their gender.

RRCA ROAD RACE OF THE YEAR AWARD:  Honors a volunteer-run, nonprofit race that is safe, well organized and enjoyable and promotes grassroots running and the mission of the RRCA.

WEBSITE AWARD:  Honors two clubs with outstanding website design and content.  Awards will be given to small (250 and fewer) and large (over 250) club websites.

News Archive

Official RRCA Sponsors

  • All Sponsors