Connect With Us on Social Media

The RRCA is the oldest and largest organization in the US dedicated to distance running.

Join RRCA Today

With over 2,400 member clubs and events representing over 250,000 running club members, why run with anyone else? Join the RRCA today!

Donate to the RRCA

We are a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization. Your financial contribution supports our programs. Give today!

Sign Up For Email Updates

Keep Pace with the RRCA. Sign up now for monthly email updates about the RRCA. Don’t worry we will not sell or give away your email address.

Two More Runners to Become Eligible for PRRO Circuit Bonus at Credit Union Cherry Blossom

Winners to Vie for $10,000 Bonus at PRRO Championship on July 4th

Lineth Chepkurui and Stephen Tum are looking to repeat as champions of the Credit Union Cherry Blossom Ten Mile on April 3, and if they’re successful they’ll each pocket $7,500. But a victory at the Washington, DC race but will also qualify them to compete for the $10,000 bonus purse at the Professional Road Running Organization (PRRO) Championship at the AJC Peachtree Road Race on July 4. Four runners have already become eligible to compete for the bonus purse in the first two races of the 2010-2011 PRRO Circuit—the Utica Boilermaker last July and the World’s Best 10K in Puerto Rico on February 27th—and two more will add their names to the list at the Credit Union Cherry Blossom.

“It seems clear that runners in recent years have been zeroing in on winning the bonus,” said PRRO President Don Kardong. “In 2009 a $35,000 purse was split between Sammy Kitwara and Lineth Chepkurui, and last year Chepkuri collected the full $10,000 bonus. When added to the first place Peachtree prize of $15,000, she took home $25,000, among the top paydays for a non-marathon event.”

Under rules of the 2010-2011 PRRO Circuit, an athlete who wins one of the first four PRRO Circuit events, and finishes first at the PRRO Championship at the AJC Peachtree Road Race, can claim the PRRO Circuit Bonus. The bonus reset to $10,000 this season after Lineth Chepkurui won last year’s prize. The bonus is split if an eligible male and female both win the Championship at Peachtree. If no eligible athlete wins, then the bonus grows by an additional $5,000 for the following season.

To date, the 2010-2011 PRRO Circuit has included the Utica Boilermaker on July 11, 2010, and the World’s Best 10K in San Juan, Puerto Rico on February 27, 2011. Lelisa Desisa of Ethiopia and Edna Kiplagat of Kenya qualified to compete for the bonus by winning the Utica Boilermaker, and Sammy Kitwara of Kenya and Sentayehu Ejigu of Ethiopia qualified by winning the World’s Best 10K. Next up is the Credit Union Cherry Blossom Ten Mile in Washington, DC on April 3, followed by the Lilac Bloomsday Run 12K in Spokane, WA on May 1, and the PRRO Championship at the AJC Peachtree Road Race on July 4.

The PRRO Circuit offers world-class competition for athletes of all nations in events shorter than the marathon distance. The circuit has shown its commitment to a drug-free sport by funding mandatory drug testing for elite athletes at all the PRRO Circuit events. The testing is carried out by the United States Anti-Doping Agency.

A summary of results from the 2010-2011 PRRO Circuit to date, and information on upcoming races, appears below.

2010-2011 Events and Results (to date):

Boilermaker 15K, July 11, 2010, Utica, NY.
Men’s winner: Lelisa Desisa, Ethiopia, 42:46.
Women’s winner: Edna Kiplagat, Kenya, 47:57.

World’s Best 10K, February 27, 2011, San Juan, Puerto Rico.
Men’s winner: Sammy Kitwara, Kenya, 27:35.
Women’s winner: Sentayehu Ejigu, Ethiopia, 31:50.

Credit Union Cherry Blossom Ten Mile, April 3, 2011, Washington, DC.
$42,000 in prize money and bonuses. $7,500 for first.
Elite athlete contact: Bill Orr, 863-533-0654.

Lilac Bloomsday Run 12K, May 1, 2011, Spokane, WA.
Over $80,000 in prize money. $7,000 for 1st.
Elite athlete contact: Jon Neill, 509-747-0101.

The AJC Peachtree Road Race (2010-2011 PRRO Championship)
July 4, 2011, Atlanta, GA.
Over $80,000 in prize money. $15,000 for 1st. $10,000 PRRO Circuit Bonus for eligible runners.
Elite athlete contact: Elizabeth Unislawski, 404-231-9064 x11.

News Archive

Official RRCA Sponsors

  • All Sponsors