Chepngetich Bates Hall A2 Chicago21

Defending Champions Highlight Competitive Elite Field for 2023 Bank of America Chicago Marathon

The Bank of America Chicago Marathon announced its full elite field for the 45th
running of the event. One of the deepest, most-decorated assemblies of athletes in race history,
including all four defending champions, will come together to continue the tradition of competitive
racing on Sunday, October 8.

“Chicago has been home to world-records, historic debuts and has served as an introduction to runners
who became legends of the sport,” said Executive Race Director Carey Pinkowski. “As we prepare to
celebrate a landmark year in the race’s history, we anticipate historic performances that we will talk
about for years to come.”

A regular podium finisher in the Abbott World Marathon Majors over the last two years, Benson Kipruto
of Kenya will defend his title in the men’s race. Kipruto broke away in the 25th mile last year to win in
2:04:24, the fourth fastest time ever in Chicago. Should Kipruto win again, he’ll be the first back-to-back
men’s open field champion since the late Sammy Wanjiru in 2010.
Known for breaking his competitors with his top end speed in the race’s final miles, Kipruto will face
perhaps his toughest competition yet when he lines up alongside the second-fastest man in history.
Fellow Kenyan Kelvin Kiptum will make his U.S. marathon debut in Chicago. Kiptum won the 2023
London Marathon, only his second marathon ever, in 2:01:25, just 16 seconds shy of Eliud Kipchoge’s
world record.

Looking to upset the headliners is Bashir Abdi of Belgium. Abdi is the marathon bronze medalist from
the 2020 Olympics and 2022 World Championships. He won the Rotterdam Marathon in April. Chicago’s
2021 champion Seifu Tura of Ethiopia will return for the third consecutive year. Tura was runner-up to
Kipruto in 2022.

After running the second-fastest marathon debut in American history in Chicago last year, Conner Mantz
will return to lead the American men’s field. Mantz will be chasing the Paris 2024 standard of 2:08:10,
just six seconds faster than his finishing time last fall. He’ll be joined by Galen Rupp, the 2017 Bank of
America Chicago Marathon champion and the only American man to win the race in the last 20 years.
Rupp, the second fastest American marathoner of all-time and the 2016 Olympic Marathon bronze
medalist, was the 2021 Chicago runner-up.

Among the other top men in the field are Dawit Wolde (ETH), Daniel Do Nascimento (BRA), John Korir
(KEN), and Americans Matt McDonald, Frank Lara and Chicago’s own Colin Mickow.

Marcel Hug of Switzerland set the course record when he won the men’s wheelchair division for the
third time at the 2022 Bank of America Chicago Marathon. He’ll return to defend that title and record,
but he will have to hold off three-time Chicago champion Daniel Romanchuk (USA) who was runner up
to Hug last year. Aaron Pike (USA) and Sho Watanbe (JPN) who were third and fourth last year
respectively, return in 2023, along with five-time Chicago winner Ernst Van Dyk (RSA) who is in his final
year of competition. Jetze Plat (NED) will make his Chicago Marathon debut after placing second and
third at this year’s London and Boston Marathons, respectively.

As previously announced, the women’s elite field will be led by 2022 Bank of America Chicago Marathon
Champion Ruth Chepngetich (KEN), American record holder Emily Sisson and 2023 London Marathon
winner Sifan Hassan (NED). Joining one of the most competitive women’s fields in marathon history is
Joyciline Jepkosgei of Kenya. Jepkosgei, winner of the 2021 London Marathon and 2019 New York City
Marathon will make her Chicago debut. Also making her Chicago debut is Genzebe Dibaba of Ethiopia.
One of the most decorated athletes of all-time, Dibaba has held six world records from the 1500m to the
5000m. She made her marathon debut in Amsterdam last fall placing second in 2:18:05.

Along with Sisson, the American contingency features four of the country’s brightest marathon stars.
Olympic bronze medalist Molly Seidel will take to the streets of Chicago for the first time. In her most
recent marathon finish, Seidel made history as the fastest American woman to ever run the New York
City Marathon when she placed 4th in 2:24:42 in 2021. Two-time Olympian and 2018 Boston Marathon
Champion Des Linden is coming back to Chicago for the first time in 13 years. Linden last raced the Bank
of America Chicago Marathon in 2010, placing second. Emma Bates, who placed fifth in this year’s
Boston Marathon in 2:22:10, returns to Chicago vying for another podium finish. Bates secured two top
five finishes in her previous Chicago performances, placing 4th in 2019 and second in 2021. Rounding
out the top American competitors is 2020 Olympian Aliphine Tuliamuk who will make her Chicago
Marathon debut. Tuliamuk, the winner of the 2020 U.S. Olympic Trials Marathon, was the top American
finisher at the 2022 New York City Marathon and placed 11th in Boston in April with a new personal best

Other notable competitors in the women’s field include Ethiopia’s Ababel Yesheneh and Americans Nell
Rojas, Sara Vaughn and Dakotah Lindwurm.

The women’s wheelchair division includes the return of 2022 Bank of America Chicago Marathon
Champion Susannah Scaroni of the United States. Last year, Chicago was the beginning of a winning
streak for Scaroni who broke the tape at the most recent New York City and Boston Marathons. Scaroni
will face two of the greatest competitors of all-time. Nine-time Chicago champion Tatyana McFadden
will be seeking her 10th victory. The American was runner-up last year and set the course record in her
2017 victory. Manuela Schär of Switzerland who withdrew from last year’s race will attempt her third
Chicago win. Schär is the 2018 and 2019 Chicago champion.

2022 Berlin Marathon winner Catherine Debrunner (SUI), Merle Menje (GER) and American Paralympian
Jenna Fesemyer will also be among the top contenders.

More than 45,000 participants will take part in the 45th edition of the Bank of America Chicago
Marathon on Sunday, October 8, 2023. For a full list of this year’s elite field, click here.

Scroll to Top