Road Runners Club of America

Growing the Sport of Running Since 1958

News Archives

RRCA Announces Its Annual National Running Award Recipients

Since 1971, the RRCA has honored dedicated individuals for their outstanding service to the RRCA and the sport of distance running at its National Running Awards Ceremony, and we are delighted to announce the 2015 RRCA Distance Running Hall of Fame Inductees and the 2014 National Running Award recipients. These outstanding contributors to our sport will be honored at the upcoming RRCA Convention"�s National Running Awards Banquet & Ceremony on Saturday, April 25, 2015 in Des Moines, IA. We encourage all RRCA members to join us for this event to celebrate these award-winning contributors to the running community. Congratulations to the following RRCA National Running Award Winners: RRCA DISTANCE RUNNING HALL OF FAME INDUCTEES Sara Mae Berman Jack Daniels Phil Stewart OUTSTANDING CLUB PRESIDENT OF THE YEAR Pete Abraham Badgerland Striders - Wauwatosa, WI BROWNING ROSS SPIRIT OF THE RRCA Bee McLeod Tidewater Striders - Norfolk, VA OUTSTANDING STATE REPRESENTATIVE David Meroney Arkansas State Rep - Little Rock, AR OUTSTANDING VOLUNTEER OF THE YEAR Gary Howsam Lake Grapevine Runners and Walkers - Grapevine, TX OUTSTANDING YOUTH PROGRAM DIRECTOR Amy Eddy River City Runners and Walkers - Parkersburg, WV ROAD RUNNER OF THE YEAR Meb Keflezighi, Open Male Sara Hall, Open Female Lloyd Hansen, Male Master Deena Kastor, Female Master Richard Hunter, Outstanding Challenged Athlete VI / Blind Youth Paralympic Experience - Folsom, CA EXCELLENCE IN JOURNALISM AWARDS Print Newsletter -The Oregon Distance Runner Kelly Barten & Blake Timm, Co-Editors Oregon Road Runners Club - Beaverton, OR E-Newsletter - The Space Coast Runner Bob Rall, Editor Space Coast Runners - Merritt Island, FL Excellence in Running Journalism Christopher White Pikes Peak Road Runners - Colorado Springs, CO OUTSTANDING WEBSITE Houston Area Road Runners Association www.HARRA.ORG RRCA ROAD RACE OF THE YEAR The Genworth Virginia 10 Miler Jeff Fedorko, Race Director - Lynchburg Road Runners Club - Lynchburg, VA Learn more about the National Running Awards Banquet hosted as the closing event of the 57th Annual RRCA National Convention. The RRCA thanks the following individuals for serving on the various award selection panels. Each selection panel includes RRCA members from around the country. Thank you to: Simone Adair, Jean Arthur, Brent Ayer, Ken Bendy, Betsy Boudreaux, Sue Brown-Nickerson, Chris Burch, Gary Corbitt, David Cotter, Trevor Darmstetter, Mitch Garner, Mark Grandonico, Bryan Graydon, Jeff Hills, Lena Hollmann, Jim Latham, David Meroney, Dwight Mikulis, Gary Morgan, Bee McLeod, Nicoletta Nerangis, Doug Pitchford, Beth Onines, Erica Phillips, Rogelio Quintanar, George Rehmet, Kelly Richards, Rose Scovel, Goody Tyler, Don Lein, Mitch Garner, Brent Ayer, Creigh Kelley, Don Kardong, Doug Kurtis, Frank Shorter, Jacqueline Hansen, Jim Oaks, Joan Samuelson, Kim Jones, Lisa Rainsberger and Steve Spence. Thank you to RRCA Program Coordinator Andy Smith for coordinating the selection process.

Join RRCA Today

Dedicated to providing quality resources for running clubs, events, and coaches.

Donate to the RRCA

A 501(c)3 organization ​dedicated to growing running for all ages and abilities.

Subscribe to Email Updates

Keep Pace with monthly emails from RRCA.

Road Runners Club of America