Road Runners Club of America

Growing the Sport of Running Since 1958

News Archives

RRCA National Running Awards Nomination Period is Open

national-awardsSince 1971, the RRCA has been honoring dedicated individuals for their service to the running community through the RRCA Hall of Fame and the National Running Awards.

Detailed information about the award categories along with selection criteria and the online nomination form can be found at The nomination deadline is 5:00 PM Eastern on January 5, 2017. The period of performance for the individual being nominated is January 1, 2016 through December 31, 2016 for all awards except the Hall of Fame and Browning Ross awards which are lifetime achievement awards. All nominations are forwarded to the appropriate selection panels tasked with selecting the final award recipients.

Nomination & Selection Process

To nominate a deserving individual for an award, review the Award Categories and Selection Criteria Information on our website. Then complete the online nomination form during the nomination period. Award winners are chosen by a volunteer selection panel from the nominations submitted for each award category. The RRCA awards selection panels are a great opportunity to get involved with the organization at the National level. For more information about serving on a selection panel email

RRCA National Running Award Categories

RRCA DISTANCE RUNNING HALL OF FAME: Inducts individuals that have dedicated themselves to the sport of distance running.

BROWNING ROSS SPIRIT OF THE RRCA: Honors a club member who is an unsung hero and champions the RRCA at the local and/or national level.

OUTSTANDING CLUB PRESIDENT OF THE YEAR: Honors an outstanding RRCA club president for the year.

ROAD RUNNERS OF THE YEAR AWARD: Honors top male and female open, masters U.S. runners with outstanding records of distance racing performance during the year. Honors one outstanding Physically Challenged Athlete of the Year (male or female).


  • Outstanding Club Newsletter - Honors either a print or e-newsletter produced by a running club for their members.
  • Excellence in Running Journalism - Honors either a club writer or a professional writer for a running publication
  • Outstanding Website Award: Honors a club with an outstanding website design, content, and social media integration. ​
OUTSTANDING VOLUNTEER OF THE YEAR: Honors an outstanding volunteer (excluding the president) of a local club or event.

OUTSTANDING STATE REPRESENTATIVE OF THE YEAR IN HONOR OF AL BECKEN: Honors the outstanding service of an RRCA State Representative.

OUTSTANDING YOUTH PROGRAM DIRECTOR OF THE YEAR: Honors a club member who is dedicated to promoting children's running and/or coordinating an outstanding children's running program.

OUTSTANDING BEGINNING RUNNING PROGRAM OF THE YEAR: Honors beginning running programs hosted by nonprofit clubs that engage new or returning runners to the sport, regardless of their gender.

RRCA ROAD RACE OF THE YEAR: Honors a nonprofit organized race that is safe, well-organized, promotes grassroots running by being locally owned, and promotes the mission of the RRCA.

Nominate a deserving individual, club, or event today!

Join RRCA Today

Dedicated to providing quality resources for running clubs, events, and coaches.

Donate to the RRCA

A 501(c)3 organization ​dedicated to growing running for all ages and abilities.

Subscribe to Email Updates

Keep Pace with monthly emails from RRCA.

Road Runners Club of America