Road Runners Club of America

Growing the Sport of Running Since 1958

News Archives

Deadline to Nominate Deserving Individuals for the RRCA National Running Awards Presented by ElliptiGo is January 15

Awards.program.brand.imageSince 1971, the RRCA has been honoring dedicated individuals for their service to the running community through the RRCA Hall of Fame and the National Running Awards presented by ElliptiGo in 2018.

Review the detailed information about the award categories along with selection criteria​. To nominate a deserving individual simply follow the instructions on the nomination form, print a copy for your records, and click the submit button.

The RRCA will provide a $400 travel stipend and one complementary ticket for each award winner to the 2018 RRCA 60th Anniversary Celebration Banquet (convention registration not included). The nomination deadline is 5:00 PM Eastern on January 15, 2018. The period of performance for ​nominees is January 1, 2017 through December 31, 2017 for all awards except the Hall of Fame and Browning Ross awards, which are lifetime achievement awards.

RRCA National Running Award Categories

RRCA DISTANCE RUNNING HALL OF FAME: Inducts individuals that have dedicated themselves to the sport of distance running.

BROWNING ROSS SPIRIT OF THE RRCA: Honors a club member who is an unsung hero and champions the RRCA at the local and/or national level.

Honors an outstanding RRCA club president for the year.

ROAD RUNNERS OF THE YEAR: Honors top male and female open, masters U.S. runners with outstanding records of distance racing performance during the year.

Honors an outstanding physically challenged athlete of the year (male or female).

EXCELLENCE IN COMMUNICATIONS - NEW FOR 2017:  Honors a club or event that has a comprehensive communication strategy, that is ideally volunteer managed, including a​n outstanding website, active social media engagement, and an outstanding e-newsletters/blasts or printed newsletters. 

EXCELLENCE IN RUNNING JOURNALISM: Honors a top writer that is either paid or unpaid to write for a running publication, club newsletter, website, blog, etc.

OUTSTANDING VOLUNTEER OF THE YEAR: Honors an outstanding volunteer (excluding the president) of a local club or event.

OUTSTANDING STATE REPRESENTATIVE OF THE YEAR IN HONOR OF AL BECKEN: Honors the outstanding service of an RRCA State Representative.

OUTSTANDING YOUTH PROGRAM DIRECTOR OF THE YEAR: Honors a club member who is dedicated to promoting ​youth running and/or coordinating an outstanding ​youth running program.

OUTSTANDING BEGINNING RUNNING PROGRAM: Honors beginning running programs hosted by nonprofit clubs that engage new or returning runners to the sport, regardless of their gender.

Honors a nonprofit-organized race that is safe, well-organized, promotes running by being locally owned, and promotes the mission of the RRCA.

Learn about all of the past RRCA National Running Award Winners.

Join RRCA Today

Dedicated to providing quality resources for running clubs, events, and coaches.

Donate to the RRCA

A 501(c)3 organization ​dedicated to growing running for all ages and abilities.

Subscribe to Email Updates

Keep Pace with monthly emails from RRCA.

Road Runners Club of America