Road Runners Club of America

Growing the Sport of Running Since 1958


RRCA Championship Event Series

The RRCA Championship Event Series is the largest grassroots organized running series in the US, attracting over 320,000 runners each year.

Since 1958, the RRCA has awarded championship events through a competitive bidding process at the National, Regional, and State level to RRCA member clubs and events to promote the sport of distance running.

The goal of the RRCA Championship Event Series is to shine a spotlight on well-run events and to award top performing runners in the open, masters (40+), grand masters (50+), and senior grand masters (60+) categories for both men and women. 

RRCA Championship Events Calendar 

Use the “RRCA Championship” filter when searching event

Hosting RRCA Championship Events

2016.MSThe RRCA Championship designation is awarded for the following distances at the State, Regional, and National level on an annual basis through a competitive bidding process:
  • 1 Mile (America’s Distance)
  • 5K
  • 10K
  • 10-Mile
  • Half Marathon (13.1 miles)
  • Marathon (26.2 miles)
  • Ultra (any distance over 26.2 miles)
  • Cross Country (variable distance; only one event)

Hosting RRCA Championship Events

The RRCA may grant additional State or Regional Championship Event distances as requested, but only after the standard distances have been awarded. An event can only be awarded one RRCA Championship designation. However, if the event has multiple distances, the event may be considered for State, Regional or National status for the various event distances.

Resources for:

Join RRCA Today

Dedicated to providing quality resources for running clubs, events, and coaches.

Donate to the RRCA

A 501(c)3 organization ​dedicated to growing running for all ages and abilities.

Subscribe to Email Updates

Keep Pace with monthly emails from RRCA.

Road Runners Club of America